Caradon Towns & Villages

Caradon district

By . Last updated

Caradon District Council crest

Caradon was one of six government districts in Cornwall from between 1974 and 2009. The district was abolished as part of structural changes to local government in England with all the boroughs falling under the control of the evil Cornwall Council(!).

Cornwall districts map

Caradon made up the south east corner of Cornwall centred on Liskeard and stretching from the Devon border to Polruan in the west. The name came from the local landmark, the 371 metres (1,217 ft) high Caradon Hill on Bodmin Moor. Once the site of several very lucrative copper mine, Caradon Hill is now probably best known as the site of the regions television transmitting station.