Wheal Coates Mine
The Wheal Coates mine opened in 1802 and was worked until its closure in 1889. It was re-opened for a short period between 1911 and 1913 when it was finally closed.
The site is most notable for its three engine houses and in particular the iconic Towanroath Shaft engine house, which is now a Grade II listed building. The whole site is in the care of the National Trust (as is the adjacent Chapel Porth beach).
Built in 1872 the Towanroath engine house was responsible for keeping the water out of the shaft 600 feet below. The other two engine houses were stamping and winding (whim) engine houses, built at around the same time. These were responsible for hoisting and crushing the tin ore.
The site has several other structures including a further chimney stack and a calciner furnace, built when the mine was re-opened to remove impurities such as arsenic and sulphur from the tin.
There is also evidence of prehistoric and medieval mine workings in the vicinity including signs of excavations in the Towanroath Vugga cave on the beach below
In its heyday Wheal Coates employed some 140 miners with tin being transported on the tramways and shipped from Portreath, Hayle, Trevaunance Pier in St Agnes and Truro