Launceston Steam Railway // Launceston

Launceston Steam Railway
Launceston station

The Launceston Steam Railway links the town of Launceston with the hamlet of Newmills. Trains are hauled by steam locomotives built at the end of the 19th century.

The Launceston Steam Railway links the town of Launceston with the hamlet of Newmills. Trains are hauled by steam locomotives built at the end of the 19th century.

The Launceston and South Devon Railway opened in 1865, between Launceston and Plymouth. It was a subsidiary of the Great Western Railway and was taken over 21 years later by the London and South Western Railway. The line closed in 1966.

In the second half of the 1960s, Nigel Bowman restored the locomotive Lilian, which he had purchased from the Penrhyn Slate Quarry in North Wales. From 1968, Lilian was occasionally used on a short length of track owned by a friend. In 1971, after looking at various sites, Nigel approached Launceston Council with proposals to lay a narrow gauge railway. The first half mile of track eventually opened on Boxing Day 1983 and the route to Newmills was completed in 1995.

Tickets are valid all day, so visitors can have as many rides as they wish. At Newmills, there is the riverside Farm Park whilst at Launceston Station there are a museum, caf', and shop. The car park is on the site of the former LSWR station.