The village of Hessenford is located about five miles west of St Germans in a well-wooded valley. It consists of a charming cluster of pretty seventeenth and eighteenth century cottages lying on the main road from Looe to Plymouth. The Seaton River runs through the village, which was originally called 'Hestonford', thought to mean the 'witches ford/place in the woods'.
A mill was recorded here in 1286 and working mills remained here until the mid twentieth century. Today some of the mills have been turned into private homes and pubs.