The dramatic headland just west of the town of Padstow is the setting for this white tower, designed in the mid-19th century to bridge the gap in ship guidance in the Bristol Channel between the Longships lighthouse near Land’s End and Lundy off the coast of North Devon. Two further lighthouses were then built along Cornwall’s north coast at Godrevy and Pendeen. Calls for a light in this area date well beyond its construction, and indeed Trinity House considered the proposal a number of times in the 40 years preceding its inauguration in 1847.
Originally, Trevose shore station sported two fixed lights – one high and one low – though the lower light was withdrawn in 1882 and the higher light changed to an intermittent beam. Despite the proliferation of sea mist and fog in this area, it was not until 1913 that a fog horn was added to the station. 1995 saw its two lighthouse keepers leave as the signals became automated and controlled from Trinity House’s nerve centre in Essex.
As with Pendeen and St Anthony lighthouse, Trevose’s keepers’ cottages have now been converted into holiday lets, offering visitors a unique place to stay, with stunning views and a real understanding of being exposed to the elements, though ear plugs are recommended in times of fog!