Port Quin, which lies a couple of miles around the corner from the popular Port Issac, is a magical near-deserted cove with a rugged natural harbour. The picture of serenity on a peaceful summer's day, with clear, clam waters that are safe for swimming, Port Quin is nonetheless prone to savage storms during the winter months.
One of these storms is reputed to have wiped out the entire fishing fleet sometime in the nineteenth century, giving rise to Port Quin's eerie nickname - 'The village that died.' After the storm the women of the village were forced to abandon their houses, due to hardship, and they soon fell into ruin and disrepair. The picturesque cove never recovered from this early disaster, and today it is home to just four cottages, all owned by the National Trust and available as holiday lets, and a couple of converted stone fish warehouses.
The headland on the southern side is home to another National Trust holiday property, Doyden Castle, which was built in 1830 by local businessman, Samuel Symons. Symons, who built the castle-like house as a retreat, soon gained a reputation for excessive partying and gambling! There is a small National Trust car park at Port Quin, which is also accessible via the (very steep) coast path from Port Isaac. The cove, which has been used as a location for the hit Cornish romantic drama, Poldark, is great for families in the summer, as the beach reveals numerous rockpools and crannies at low tide.